HYRL Trio Make London Origin Squad

By Web Editor

Ball, Robertson & Guilliam Selected

Three young Hampshire rugby league players received an early Christmas present today when they learned of their selection for the London Rugby League's prestigious junior Origin squad in the under 12's category.

Southampton Spitfires players Euan Ball and Mike Robertson were joined by Henry Guilliam of Wessex Bears. All three have enjoyed a great season so far. The trio, who play in the newly formed Hampshire Youth Rugby League competition, have been selected for the Origin South (South Bank) side to face the Origin North (North Bank) team in August.

The Origin series is a test of the best players at each age group of the London Junior League and this year the selectors considered players from the Hampshire Youth League for the first time. Wessex Bears, a new club formed in April and based in Winchester will be especially proud to have a player selected, showing their rapid progress this summer.

The Hampshire Youth Rugby League Association would like to congratulate Euan, Mike and Henry on their selection and wish them the very best of luck. We're sure both lads will use the experience to learn more about the game and to improve themselves as players.


U12 Squads

Zach Berry (Charlton Gunners)
Ciaran Mulleary (Medway Dragons)
Marcus Clarke (Elmbridge Eagles)
Henry Guilliam (Wessex Bears)
Henry Mackender (Medway Dragons)
Sebastian Large (Charlton Gunners)
Euan Ball (Southampton Spitfires)
Samuel Adu (Sussex Merlins)
Luke Parr (Richmond Warriors)
Daniel Overton (Richmond Warriors)
Liam Sullivan (Croydon Hurricanes)
Alex Noble (Richmond Warriors)
Oliver Chennell (Sussex Merlins)
Benjamin Valliant (Croydon Hurricanes)
Damian Kraszkiewicz (Richmond Warriors)
Alex Body (Richmond Warriors)
Daniel Baldgun (Croydon Hurricanes)
Donovan Tomlinson (Sussex Merlins)
Mike Robertson (Southampton Spitfires)
Finley Bryant (Medway Dragons)

Owen Young (Southend Spartans)
Taylor Burton (Southend Spartans
Harry Dean (St Albans)
Patrick Wiseman (Brentwood Eels)
Owen Millard (London Skolars)
Thomas Wilton (St Albans)
Ben Shouksmith (Brentwood Eels)
Rory Gray (Brentwood Eels)
Tommy Fraine (London Skolars)
Dylan Jimini (London Skolars)
Matthew Broadley-Naylor (St Albans)
William Hammond (Brentwood Eels)
Jacob Smith (Brentwood Eels)
Cameron Giwa McNeil (London Skolars)
Zak Saggers (Brentwood Eels)
John Junior-Woodhouse (Southend Spartans)
Euan McDonnell (Brentwood Eels)
Luke Pembroke (Brentwood Eels)
Josh McTavish (London Skolars)
Zachary Burke (Brentwood Eels)

Where next?

Applications Open for New Teams Join The League in 2015 - Apply Now!
Festival 3 Round Up Hot Weather & Sizzling Skills

Hampshire Youth Rugby League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.